The shady side of being famous

The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge are not amused about the publication in the French magazine “Closer” of topless pictures of them taken during their vacation in Provence, France, last month. In a statement issued by the Palace this Friday it reads: “St James’s Palace confirms that legal proceedings for breach of privacy have been commenced today in France by The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge against the Editor and Publishers of Closer Magazine.” Laurence Pieau, the editor of “Closer” says she picked the pictures that are inoffensive to be published in her magazine, taken of the Duchess from the public road when she was on the balcony of the mansion of Viscount Linley in the South of France. She says there were more explicite pictures that were much more intimate.

Having been a royalty-watcher already for over thirty years, I have never really understood why it should be necessary to know and see about everything about the royals all over the world. It is nice to know where they spend their vacation, but I am not very interested in all these paparazzi pictures – usually of very bad quality also. And although I find it amusing, I really don’t need to know what they look like naked. I don’t need a report of every minute of their lives, and to be honest, I understand very well that they too sometimes really need some privacy also outside their own house. It must be quite hard if you are so well-known, that you are recognised everywhere you go.

I must admit that it seems I am some kind of celebrity myself, just a little one, but happily only among royalty-watchers. If I go to some event there often is someone who recognises me from my website picture, and even some (non-reigning) royals seem to know who I am. But that is about it and I am glad about that.

Leave a Reply

